Nexstim logo

Martin Jamieson has been the Chairman of the Board of Directors since December 2015. Following a marketing career in the pharmaceutical industry with Wyeth (Pfizer) and 3M, Martin joined Smith Medical - part of the FTSE 100 Smiths Group - as Director and Divisional Managing Director culminating in his final position - Managing Director Smiths Medical International. He was then appointed CEO of Rayner Group, a globally based ophthalmology company which developed the first intraocular lens. Having stepped down from his full time CEO role, Martin has taken up a number of Non-Executive Directorships with Light Point Medical, C-Major Ltd., and Medway NHS Hospital Foundation Trust where he is Senior Independent Director and Audit Chair. He also consults on international market development and is a senior advisor to a European Private Equity house.

Johan Christenson joined the Board of Directors in 2007. He is also a member of the board at Trimb AB, Oncopeptides AB, Targovax AS, Ancilla AB and Benechill Inc. Christenson is a partner at HealthCap. Prior to joining Odlander Fredrikson, Mr. Christenson worked at SEB Företagsinvest. Astra and AstraZeneca. He has lectured in neuroscience and is the author of 17 scientific articles. Mr. Christenson was assistant dean at the Karolinska Institute Graduate School. He received his medical training at the Karolinska Institute and has a Ph.D. in neuroscience.

Ekaterina Smirnyagina joined the Board of Directors in 2013. Dr. Smirnyagina is a partner at the Capricorn Health-Tech Fund Venture Fund. Prior to this she was with Alta Partners, a US healthcare focus venture fund. Her current and past board memberships include Adocia (Euronext: ADOC.PA), iSTAR Medical SA, ConfoTherapeutics NV, Ablynx (Euronext: ABLX.BE), Cerenis Therapeutics (Euronext: CEREN.PA), Innate Pharma (Euronext: IPH.PA) and Kiadis Pharma (Euronext: KDS.AS). Previously Dr. Smirnyagina worked in business development at Genset S.A. and management consulting at the Mitchell Madison Group. She was a postdoctoral fellow in microbiology & immunology at the Stanford University School of Medicine and holds a Ph.D. in cellular & molecular biology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a B.Sc. in biochemistry from Moscow State University.

Juha Vapaavuori has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2006. Mr. Vapaavuori is Chairman of the Board of Directors of KCHolding 3 Oy, a member of the Board of FIT Biotech Oyj and is Senior Lead of corporate finance at the Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra. He previously served as a board member of Pharmatory Oy and Vivoxid Oy. Mr. Vapaavuori holds a M.Sc. from University of Helsinki.

Kenneth Charhut has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2013. Mr. Charhut is a board member of Reshape Medical and Foldax Inc; CEO and President of Compellon Inc; Director of Folda LLC; independent board member of Avencina LLC; and a board member of Summation Health Ventures. Previously Mr. Charhut was CEO and President of MindFrame Inc and Orqis Medical. He spent 16 years at Baxter Healthcare Corporation, and is a former independent Director of Arges Medical and Micro Dexerity Systems. Mr. Charhut has served on a number of industry councils in the U.S. and Japan. He holds a B.Sc. in mechanical engineering from Cornell University and an MBA from the University of Chicago.

Juliet Thompson has spent approximately 20 years working as an investment banker and strategic advisor to healthcare companies in Europe. She he has built a strong track record of advising companies on corporate strategy, equity and debt fundraisings and international M&A. She is a member of the the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ACA) and holds a BSc degree in Economics from the University of Bristol. Her experience includes senior roles (Managing Director, Head of Corporate Finance and Partner) at Stifel Financial Corp, Nomura Code Securities, WestLB Panmure, ICI PLC, Deloitte and Touche and HM Treasury.

Dr. Hoare has extensive experience in the neuromodulation industry, including spinal cord, deep brain, vagus nerve and occipital stimulation. Most recently he was the President, Neuromodulation at LivaNova (formed by the merger of Cyberonics and Sorin Group). At Cyberonics, Rohan was the Chief Operating Officer. Prior to this he held numerous leadership positions at St Jude Medical culminating in President, Neuromodulation Division. Early in his career Rohan was a consultant with McKinsey & Co., a premiere management consulting firm. He holds a Ph.D. in Physics from Harvard University where he was a Fulbright Scholar.

Sorry, there are no fact sheets available. Please check back soon.

Follow us