Nexstim logo
  • "I can reach, when I grasp I have more control."

    Dwayne Nelson
    Stroke Patient
  • "I think this is the wave of the future."

    Dr. Richard L. Harvey
    Medical Director, Center for Stroke Rehabilitation, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (RIC)
  • "Best science ever."

    Lynn M. Rogers, PhD
    Director, Neuralplasticity Laboratory, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago (RIC)

Advances in Rehabilitation Offers Hope for Stroke Survivors

Nexstim has launched a multicenter double-blinded, randomized, and sham-controlled trial to determine the therapeutic effects of navigated rTMS (repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation) for stroke rehabilitation. This new stroke therapy combines occupational therapy with nTMS (navigated transcranial magnetic stimulation). Initial results from the Contrastim study have opened the door to improving the quality of life for stroke survivors.

The study is looking at the combination of non-invasive navigated transcranial stimulation (nTMS) along with occupational therapy (OT) in post-stroke patients. Called the NICHE trial (Navigated Inhibitory rTMS in Contralesional Hemisphere Evaluation), this study will be conducted at twelve of the top rehabilitation sites in the United States.

Arizona

Mayo Clinic
Andre Watkins
Tel: 480-342-3949
watkins.andre@mayo.edu

California

Ranchos Los Amigos National Rehabilitation Institute
Nicole Bayus
Tel: 562-401-7049
nicole.b@larei.org

Georgia

Shepherd Center
Carlyn Kappy
Tel: 404-367-1375
carlyn_kappy@shepherd.org

Illinois

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Ariane Garrett
Tel: 312-238-0947
agarrett@ric.org

Indiana

Indiana University
Angi Micheels
amicheel@iupui.edu

Massachusetts

Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital
Melanie French
mfrench@neuromodulationlab.org

New York

Columbia University
Hilary Armstrong
Tel: 212-305-9416
hfa2104@cumc.columbia.edu

Burke Rehabilitation Center
Zoe Tsagaris
Tel: 914-597-2153
kzt3001@med.cornell.edu

North Carolina

Duke University
Debra Heydt
Tel: 919-668-2843
debra.heydt@duke.edu

Ohio

Ohio State University
Lise Worthen-Chaudhari
Tel: 614-293-6281
worthen-chaudhari.1@osu.edu

University of Cincinnati
Kari Dunning
Tel: 513-558-7487
netlab@uc.edu

Texas

TIRR Memorial Hermann Hospital
Nuray Yozbatiran
Tel: 713-797-5282
nuray.yozbatiran@uth.tmc.edu

Treatment consists of 20 minutes of pre-functional occupational therapy, 17 minutes of navigated TMS, followed by 60 minutes of upper-limb task oriented OT. Patients received treatment during 3 visits per week for 6 weeks, the standard in the US. Then returning for follow up visits at 1 week, 1 month, 3 months, and 6 months.

To qualify, a patient must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Have hand and arm weakness on one side because of a stroke
  • The  stroke must be because of a blockage (ischemic) or a bleed (hemorrhagic)
  • The stroke must have taken place within 3 to 12 months prior to starting the study